Even when I was in the orphanage, when I was roaming the street trying to find enough to eat, even then I thought of myself as the greatest actor in the world. I had to feel the exuberance that comes from utter confidence in yourself. Without it, you go down to defeat.Charlie Chaplin, actor, director

"Chas. Chaplin". Actor Charlie Chapl...

“Chas. Chaplin”. Actor Charlie Chaplin seated at desk. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Confidence in ourselves is an important part of attracting our best life. As soon as we have a goal in mind, our confidence tells us we can reach it. ‘Go on,’ it says. ‘You can do it.’ What a lovely, friendly voice to have inside our head, supporting and cheering us on.

We strive to cast out that other voice—the nasty, discouraging one that speaks with a snide tone and snorts disdain at our plans to better ourselves. Let’s make a pact together that, no matter what, we will never let that horrible voice cross the threshold of our brain ever again.

Think of that negative voice as a ghastly, mean-spirited thug that keeps knocking on your front door. Would you allow that creep into your home? No, of course not. Keep the discouraging words out of your head. Fill your mind with ‘I can do this.’ Make it impossible to sabotage your goal. The good news is that while your ‘home’ is crowded to the rafters with the positive words, no room exists for the grumpy voice to squeeze inside.

Why shouldn’t we be confident? The main reason is because we listen to that nasty voice way too much. Stop it! Make a choice. Tell yourself every day, ‘I am my greatest strength; I have all the resources I need to complete this goal. I am an amazing individual.’ Lighten up and get a kick out of yourself for being victorious over those useless, negative thoughts.

For just one day discard every negative thought and replace it with a positive one. And make sure you smile while you’re thinking these wonderful thoughts. At the end of the day, you’ll feel much better, and will probably decide to be positive again the next day, and the next. It’s your choice.  Choose the positive; have fun; it’s that simple.

Now that we’re confident and we believe in ourselves, let’s create the goal.

If we assume we know ourselves pretty well, we’re not going to make goals that are unreasonable and impractical. Start with something manageable that you think you can actually attain. The more goals you reach, the more confident you become.

I knew very little about gardening, but when I moved into my new house three years ago, I decided to try building a vegetable garden in my backyard. I started my quest with a shovel and a rake. The physical labor was a surprise, but I kept it up: ‘I can do this.’

After clearing the patch of its weeds, I noticed my neighbor waving at me from our fence. We got talking, and she gave me suggestions for creating good soil, and advised me on the best veggies for our area. I took my list to our local garden center and got more friendly tips.

gardenBy the end of May, I had my baby plants lined up in rows, waiting to grow big and get harvested. As the greenery spread, I saw florets turning into zucchini and squash, tomatoes ripening on the vines, and kale rising tall as a ten-year-old child. Fresh food from my first garden made its way a few yards to the kitchen table. What a thrill! I set a reasonable goal, did the leg work, reaped the rewards, and made new friends.

My garden goal may not be as dramatic an example as Charlie Chaplin’s dream of being a famous actor, but I had succeeded in keeping that positive voice in my head.

