If one advances confidently, in the direction of his own dreams and endeavors to lead the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.

–Henry David Thoreau

We all want to have a say in the direction of our lives. In order to accomplish small and big things, we need do very little. No more moving mountains or metaphorically twisting ourselves into impossible shapes. The Universe makes it easy for us: all we have to do is control our thoughts. We need to learn how to guide our minds.

Start with a small image. Think of something you desire. Imagine it in your hand. Go online and print out a photo of the object, or cut out a picture of it from a magazine. Post this photo in front of you and stare at it first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

This will only work if you truly desire it. Your mind will recognize if you’re playing a game, so be sincere in your desire for this particular object.

Imagine the manifestation of this object from a thought to a physical thing. See it as a complete and finished thing. Never worry about how it’s going to find you. The Universe will magically move everyone and everything to help you receive the object. Let the Universe move the mountains. You just keep imagining and believing that the object is on its way.

Imagine your life with this object in it; feel the excitement of acquiring this object. Celebrate its arrival in advance. Believe it’s on its way. Then get on with your day. Forget about it. Let go of that strong grip on your desire. Have faith that the Universe is taking care of its ‘manufacture.’ You will soon meet with ‘a success unexpected.’

My friend and I were going on a long day hike, and I needed to choose an appropriate backpack. I had a couple different types, but nothing seemed right. I put the thought out to the Universe: I asked for the perfect backpack for our hike. Then I got on with my day. I forgot about itImage

The next day, my car dealership phoned to remind me that my car needed its bi-annual service check. I made an appointment for the next afternoon. When I went to pick up my car around 4 o’clock, the mechanic told me the service package I had chosen came with a gift. How exciting. ‘What was the gift?’ I asked. Can you guess? That’s right: a backpack. And not just any backpack, but one that would be the perfect size and shape for our day hike. Amazing? Not at all. This is normal miracle madness. So go crazy. Have fun. Create your own reality. Start small and be confident. The Universe hears you and knows exactly what it’s doing.

